Training & Events

"Greatly appreciate the time and effort that must have gone in to developing this training!! Engaging and encouraging and very informative. I learnt a lot." - Befriending Networks Training Participant
"The facilitator was really friendly, welcoming and was obviously very knowledgeable about the work we were completing." - Befriending Networks Training Participant  

Please scroll down for our list of currently planned training events and training categories. Have questions about any of our courses and want to speak to someone directly about your training needs? Click here 

If you need any training courses for you or your team but do not see a date below, please get in touch. All courses are available to be purchased as a private run. Have questions about our training content and availability? Email Victoria@befriending.co.uk

Please see our menu on the left-hand side for all categories of our training events and to learn more about what each category offers. For example, our networking events offer a fantastic space to learn directly from other projects and build connections. For continued development and staff learning, we highlight Vital Skills, Topical Training, and Good Practice Training as three key categories to consider. 

Access our Training and Events Catalogue 2024 here

Training Spotlight of April 

Did you know that volunteer recruitment and volunteer retention is the most commonly raised issue by members of Befriending Networks? It is for this reason that we have two courses specifically designed to tackle these concerns. Our Vital Skills: Recruiting Befrienders is designed to help you with the design, marketing and procedures of recruiting volunteers, and our Topical Training course, Volunteer Retainment, is designed to help you keep a hold of them! Join us on Tuesday 7th May 2024, 2pm - 4pm for our interactive training session on Volunteer Retainment. Learn our seven key principles in retention and gain access to our booklet filled with good practice and top tips! 

Listings

Found 35 events.

Befriender Training Toolkit: How To Use It

Thursday 6th June, 14:00 - 15:30

Vital Skills: Training for Trainers

Wednesday 12th June - Wednesday 26th June (All Wednesday sessions)

Dementia and Befriending

Thursday 13th June, 9:45 - 12:45

Networking: Regional Networking - England

Tuesday 18th June, 13:00 - 14:00

Networking: Regional Networking - Wales

Thursday 20th June, 13:00 - 14:00

Networking: Regional Networking - Scotland

Thursday 20th June, 10:00 - 11:00

Networking: International Networking

Friday 21st June, 12:30 - 13:30

Vital Skills: Recruiting Befrienders

Wednesday 10th July, 9:30 - 14:30

Vital Skills: Support and Supervision

Thursday 11th July, 9:30 - 14:30

Vital Skills: Matching and Endings

Wednesday 17th July, 9:30 - 14:30

Vital Skills: Training for Trainers

Thursday 18th July - Thursday 1st August (All Thursday sessions)

Policies and Procedures for Befrienders

Wednesday 24th July, 11:00 - 12:30

Collaboration and Co-Design

Monday 12th August, 10:30 - 12:30

Monitoring, Evaluating and Reporting Impact

Wednesday 14th August, 12:30 - 15:30

Reducing Inappropriate Referrals

Thursday 15th August, 12:30 - 14:30

Volunteer Retainment

Thursday 15th August, 09:30 - 11:30

Bereavement in Befriending

Tuesday 20th August, 12:30 - 15:00

Policies and Procedures for Befrienders

Wednesday 21st August, 09:30 - 11:00

Vital Skills: Risk Management

Tuesday 27th August, 9:30 - 14:00

Management and Leadership in Befriending Projects

Wednesday 28th August - Wednesday 18th September (All Wednesday Sessions)

Vital Skills: Boundaries

Tuesday 3rd September, 9:30 - 14:30

Cancellation Policy

We understand that circumstances may require a change of training dates. We allow you to defer once when we are given notice of at least 48 hours, after that it is seen as a non-refundable cancellation. Please check your diary before committing to any dates. If you must defer your space due to unforeseen circumstances, requests must be made before the class starts to be considered. You can contact the facilitator of your event, or Victoria@befriending.co.uk to discuss your booking.

Accessibility

All Zoom events have live closed captions available. If you have any accessibility requirements, please do get in touch and notify our Learning and Development manager Victoria@befriending.co.uk so that they can best prepare and ensure the course is inclusive of your needs. 

Privacy Policy 

To see our privacy policy, please click here.